Melbourne, Fla. — Brevard Heart Foundation has selected 21 students and awarded them a combined $20,000 to support their educational journeys towards healthcare and healthcare-related degrees. As Brevard Heart Foundation’s mission is focused on improving and promoting quality healthcare for Brevard County citizens, the Foundation recognizes the importance of ensuring healthcare students have the support they need to complete their degrees in order to positively impact their community.

Brevard Heart Foundation releases its annual scholarship application in spring and welcomes applications from students who have lived or attended school in Brevard County. “Never has it been more apparent how important it is to have essential frontline medical workers in our community than this past year as everyone depends on these professionals to take care of those impacted by the global pandemic,” states Travis Proctor, President of the Brevard Heart Foundation. “We are so pleased that we are able to do our part to support individuals who have chosen to serve our community through medicine.” The scholarships offered by the Foundation are unique because there are eight different categories that may apply to students, including the Medical Transition Scholarship for students transferring into a healthcare-related degree from another program, and the Physician Assistant Scholarship for students studying to be Physician Assistants and need additional medical equipment and books to complete their residency programs.

This year’s scholarship awardees are as follows:

Medical Transition Scholarship: Mildred Casseus, Chantel Morgan; Doctor of Osteopathy Scholarship: Megan Cherubino; Medical Doctor Scholarship: Amanda Cox, Malika Parchment, Kari Shaver; Physician Assistant Scholarship: Olivia Bergau, Colin Kennedy, Nicole Trio; Doctorate of Nursing Practice Scholarship: Helen Condry; Nursing Merit Award: Pearl Ahamed, Emily Bodi, Margarette Hays, Anna Hinkle, Amy Seymour, Reece Wilson; Nursing Scholarship Award: April Bailey, Shantrell Clayton, Brittany Forgino, Kaley Nelson.

Each year, the Foundation also selects a nursing student from Eastern Florida State College who exemplifies the compassion and dedication shown by Nancy Meisenheimer, an amazing nurse who served in Brevard County. This year’s Nancy Meisenheimer Nursing Award recipient is Jaclyn Kelleher.

When reflecting upon the impact of the Foundation’s scholarship program, Shantrell Clayton, a scholarship recipient, shares, “This scholarship was more than a blessing to me, especially as a single parent and having to pay for my education out of pocket. I appreciate the Foundation’s support as a hard-working, dedicated individual that wants to further their education, help others, and be blessed with this opportunity.” Since its inception in 1957, the Foundation has provided over $500,000 in medical scholarships.